Wish List – 2015

golfnutter - wish list 2015

Forget Christmas – any-time will do.

It was late on New Year’s Eve, somewhere close to Walking Street, when I was accosted by an aged street vendor. After a haggle she convinced me to part with 200 baht. I left with my prize firmly tucked under one arm and headed home.

The following day I awoke to find my purchase of the previous night lying beside me in bed. It was a highly polished, four-foot long gnarled stick, complete with pointy end. It had magical powers; at least that is what the old lady had convinced me of the previous night, after my zillionth beer. With this “wand” I could make ten wishes for the new year; provided they were related to just the one subject. I chose golf.

So with wand in hand I stood on my balcony overlooking the back sois of Pattaya and made my wishes for 2015:

  1. That the hiring of caddies becomes voluntary, thus cutting approximately 700 baht off the cost of a round to those not requiring one. That is 2100 baht per week to many golfers.
  2. That Pattaya golf venues adopt one set of local rules.
  3. That Pattaya golf venues adopt one administration to negotiate terms and conditions of play with all courses.
  4. That one handicap system for all Pattaya golf is accepted by recognised golf venues – one that does not permit individuals to record and submit their own scores without independent verification.
  5. That pace of play improves to a point where 4-hour rounds become the norm.
  6. That the trend towards mandatory rental of golf carts is reversed.
  7. That recognised golf venues sign up to a minimum standard of behaviour and enforce it. A golfer banned from one outlet for unacceptable behaviour be banned from all.
  8. That Rory McIlroy wins the Masters.
  9. That Phil Mickelson wins the US Open.
  10. That Tiger Woods wins one of the other two majors.

Having made my ten wishes, my thoughts turned to some of the courses I had played over the past 12 months. Some observations:

Mt Shadow: please ensure more fairway grass on holes where balls tend to gather; eg. playing the approach shot (that’s the third shot for most of us) on the par-5 third. Also, anti-slip mats in the new showers will help prevent an accident just waiting to happen.

Crystal Bay: one of the friendliest of layouts, and many golfers favourite because of that. But please, use rotation of your three nines to better effect so as to prevent a return to the terrible state your putting surfaces suffered for much of last year.

Khao Kheow: great course, but please ease up on the watering just short of the greens.

Pattana: ease up on the watering, period. Oh, and please compact the sand in those bunkers.

Pattavia: magnificent upgrading achieved, but shaving those greens as fine as you do, without due watering, can make them unfair and bordering on unplayable. Please fix that road.

Emerald: this course does not warrant the fee structure in place, not when compared to what’s available elsewhere. I hope it finds a wise, long-term owner soon.

Eastern Star: great layout, good fairways and bunkers. Be great to get those greens up to the same standard as the rest of the course, and then kept there.

Green Valley: all courses could use this course’s standard of presentation as the benchmark. With possibly the greatest volume of traffic, this course receives more excellent reviews than any other.

Siam Old Course: that you rescind your decision to impose compulsory carts on your members in 12 months’ time. This is yet another message that you don’t really care for your long-time members, although one suspects you’re not unduly concerned.

Phoenix: now under good management. Excellent decision to rescind compulsory cart deal. Despite improvements however, most venues will struggle to get support for this course at 1850 baht green-fee caddie fee.

Plutaluang: giving a golf venue one hour 40 minutes notice of cancellation, prior to tee-off, is unacceptable, even for those who set their own rules. The manner with which you told a long-time customer (with 32 golfers) to go away, last November, was breathtaking.

Treasure Hill: a tough test of golf, this. However, once a deal is agreed, please honour it. Changing the price when we arrive is unlike you. Please desist.

Bangpra: well managed and well presented.

Greenwood: ditto above.

Bangpakong Riverside: arguably the best presented course of all.

Courses that, during most of 2014, represented the best value-for-money:

In no particular order – Greenwood, Treasure Hill, Pattavia Century, Khao Kheow, Bangpra, Mt Shadow, Plutaluang, Green Valley.

*

The following night I went back to the same area from where I obtained my magic wand. Spotting me, the old lady gave a toothless grin. “You make wish?” she asked.

“Yes,” I said, noting she had a bunch of sticks, just like the ‘one and only’ wand I had bought.

She looked at me in disbelief, shaking her head, “Rory, Tiger and Phil winning, maybe, but as for the rest, pigs may fly.”

Golfnutter

About golfnutter

Born in Wellington, New Zealand over 60 years ago. Introduced to golf - Thailand style - in 2004 and never recovered. I believe Thailand, Pattaya particularly, offers a unique and wonderful golfing experience for all golfers, whatever their handicap. If I can help embellish that experience, I will.
This entry was posted in Wish List - 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wish List – 2015

  1. Adrian Bullock says:

    I will defer to your greater experience on the course improvements and with regard to the courses joining together to negotiate terms it will never happen because they all compete in the same markets and will always need and want autonomy to do deals with the miriad of tour companys and organisations and stand or fall on what they do plus as you point out the standards vary so why would the better courses want to help out those not up to the same standard.

    As for Tiger well the old lady is right he wont win another major until he is on the seniors tour, in his pomp even when his game was off his aura would put opponents off now the aura has well and truly gone there are too many good players out there for his game, even if it comes back, to beat them on its own.

  2. Simon HIrst says:

    I too saw the same woman. In an alcoholic haze I bought the same stick. I had some trouble getting it back through customs I can tell you.

    So I made some wishes too.

    1. For Rory to win the Masters.
    2. Phil Mickelson for the US Open
    3. Sergio Garcia for The Open
    4. Luke Donald for the USPGA
    5. For me to keep up my stretching exercises so i can get behind the ball properly.
    6. For me to hit my driver with my 9 iron easy swing.
    7. For me to be able to slip the new JPX850 driver in my bag without my wife noticing.
    8. For me to win the singles knockout for the 7th time.
    9. For me to have enough overtime this year to come back to Pattaya early in 2016
    10. For me to have a bed that isn’t as hard as a park bench when I do.

    I wouldn’t like to bet which of those is most likely but for sure finding a soft hotel bed in Pattaya is totally impossible.

    Simon

    • golfnutter says:

      Simon,

      You have been around long enough to know that there are no soft landings in Pattaya, whether in a hotel or not.

      Regards,

      Golfnutter

Leave a comment